11 Comments
May 7, 2020Liked by Princess Alethea Kontis ✨🌹✨

I loved Goldilocks, after all she got the just right bed and honey, lol!

Expand full comment
May 7, 2020Liked by Princess Alethea Kontis ✨🌹✨

Peter Pan is my all time favourite

Expand full comment
May 7, 2020Liked by Princess Alethea Kontis ✨🌹✨

I survived childhood on the Andrew Lang and other fairy tale collections, but there's one that really got to me. Sadly, I've never found it again and remember it only vaguely. It involved Baba Yaga and a plucky heroine who had gone to Baba Yaga to escape an evil stepmother or father. She had to perform a number of impossible tasks (something with a comb cast on the ground as a bridge?) to win free of Bsba Yaga. The witch's disgruntled black cat helped the girl make it through. It might have been a comic book (graphic novel we'd say now) version.

Expand full comment
May 6, 2020Liked by Princess Alethea Kontis ✨🌹✨

I always adored sleeping beauty, snow white and red rose and little mermaid,

Expand full comment
May 6, 2020Liked by Princess Alethea Kontis ✨🌹✨

i've got a couple of favorites--Mulan and Hero are tied for first place because i like heroines i can actually identify with--which are NOT the ones who sit at home or just fall into some kind of trouble and are in need of rescuing

I also like the Cinderella story because there are so many different variations on it--it seems as though every culture has at least one or two versions and it's fun to see the slight but telling differences between the variations

Expand full comment

"Cinderella" has always been my favorite. I am especially fond of the animated Disney version (my first Cinderella), the live-action Disney version (I love Disney), the Rodgers and Hammerstein version from 1965 (I love musicals), and "Ella Enchanted" (one of my favorite books). In high school, we read different versions from around the world, all of which were so beautiful. The idea of being transformed into the most spectacular version of oneself and then being loved even after the spell is broken is one that really resonates with me. I also love "Beauty and the Beast" (especially the Disney version) for similar reasons.

Expand full comment